Lehigh University Awards Honor Extraordinary Service

You are here

Monday, December 14, 2020


While we were unable to gather to celebrate the accomplishments of the Lehigh community in May for our traditional Appreciation Dinner, the University did award its annual awards for extraordinary contributions. Each named award is funded by an endowment created by a donor for the specific purpose of providing a cash award to accompany the honor. Congratulations to all of our colleagues.

Nominations for the 2021 Lehigh University Awards are now open. Go to the awards website to learn more about each award and consider nominating a colleague.


Alfred Noble Robinson Exempt & Nonexempt Staff Award

Scott Burden

Associate Director/Interim Director, The Pride Center 


Alfred Noble Robinson Faculty Award

Ganesh Balasubramanian

Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics


Carl & Ingeborg Beidleman Research Award in Business & Economics

Steven McKay Price

Associate Professor, Perella Department of Finance


Charles Stevens

Associate Professor, Management


Christian & Mary Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching

Angela Brown

Associate Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Hillman Award for Excellence in Graduate Advising

Nicole Lynn Johnson

Assistant Professor, Counseling Psychology


Hillman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising

Ganesh Balasubramanian

Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics


Hillman Exempt Staff Award

Christa Neu

Photographer/Photo Editor, Communications and Public Affairs


Hillman Faculty Award

Diane Hyland

Professor, Psychology


Hillman Nonexempt Staff Award

Donna Ball

Coordinator, Education and Human Services (retired) 


Lehigh Early Career Award for Distinguished Teaching

Arielle Carr

Professor of Practice, Computer Science and Engineering


Lehigh University Exempt Staff Distinguished Service Award

Rita Jones

Director, Center for Gender Equity


Libsch Early Career Research Award

Lorenzo Servitje

Assistant Professor, Literature and Medicine


Libsch Research Award

Roslyn Weiss

Professor, Philosophy


Louis & Helen Zirkel Library Staff Award

Mark Canney

Manager, LTS Library Access Services


Stacey Kimmel-Smith

Assistant Director, LTS Client Services


Perry & Carol Zirkel Nonexempt Staff Award

Mel (Mary Ellen) Kitchen

Coordinator, The Pride Center


Perry A. Zirkel Award for Distinguished Teaching in Education

Jerome Farrell

Professor of Practice and Clinical Coordinator, Counseling Psychology


Stabler Award for Excellence in Teaching

Mark Snyder

Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering



*Paul J. Franz Award

Shannon Jaeger

Director, Volunteer Engagement, Development and Alumni Relations


*Deming Lewis Award (Not Yet Awarded)


*John W. and Barbara R. Woltjen Award

Lora Martin

Police Officer, Lehigh University Police Department


*Robert C. and Virginia L. Williamson Award for Social Research

Ziad Munson

Associate Professor, Sociology and Anthropology


*ERAC Distinguished Service Award

Mel (Mary Ellen) Kitchen

Coordinator, The Pride Center


Deborah Watlington

Business Manager, College of Education 


*These awards are managed by specific departments outside the Office of the Provost