Celebrating The Path To Prominence: The 2017 Lehigh Appreciation Dinner

You are here

Saturday, May 20, 2017

More than 500 staff, faculty and retirees recently gathered for the annual Lehigh Appreciation Dinner and awards ceremony. President John Simon noted that the evening was a celebration of the entire university community. “Our staff and faculty make it easy to dream on a grand scale,” he said. “After all, you’re the ones who power this engine; I get to sit in the cockpit and steer.”




Colleagues Honored and Remembered

The 25-Year Club gained twenty members this year. Prior to dinner, the inductees in attendance gathered for a photograph. 

The full list of new 25-Year Club members includes:

Gray Bebout - Earth and Environmental Sciences

Lynn Cassimeris  – Biological Sciences

Meng Chew – Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics

George DuPaul - Education and Human Services

Garth Isaak  – Mathematics

Chaim Kaufmann  – International Relations

Cecelia Kilian - LTS Library Access Services

Dean Koski –  Athletics

Candace Mill – Registrar

Terrence Napier – Mathematics

Murat Ozturk  – Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics

Douglas Reese –  LTS Client Services

James Ricles – Civil and Environmental Engineering

Luis Rosario – LTS Technology Infrastructure and Operations

Jill Schneider – Biological Sciences

Karen Sicinski  – Health Center

Douglas Strange – Athletics

Anthony Viscardi – Art and Architecture

Todd Watkins – Economics

Sharon Wiles-Young - LTS Library Access Services



Following a moment of silence to remember those members of the Lehigh community who passed away in the past year, dinner emcees Mary Kay Baker and George White presented the Lehigh University Awards. They were joined by guests for several award presentations.


You can read about all of our Lehigh University Award Recipients here.


Read about this year’s new class of retirees here. 


For more photos from the evening, visit the full gallery here.